Jackson Area Chamber of Commerce Memphis Regional Chamber of Commerce
Home City of Brownsville Haywood County Chamber of Commerce Utility Department Haywood County Megasite Economic and Community Development News Meeting Dates Maps Contacts Community Calendar Brownsville on the Move
2012 Election News


To download this document as a PDF file, CLICK HERE
For voters who need to know more about the new laws requiring voter identification visit tn.gov/sos/election/photoID.htm

Haywood County Election Commission Announces Start of Early Voting
July 6, 2012

   Beginning Friday, July 13, registered voters will have the opportunity to cast their ballots for the August 2 state primary and county general elections. Haywood County Administrator of Elections Andrea Smothers is encouraging voters to take advantage of early voting.
   "Early voting is a convenient way for voters to be sure their voices are heard," said Smothers. "With this kind of flexibility, I hope that our voters will not miss this opportunity to exercise their right to vote."
   Early voting will be conducted at the Election Office on the lower level of the Courthouse, from 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., Friday, July 13 - Saturday, July 28. Please note that 3 Saturdays are included in this timeframe. Also, requests to vote absentee by mail are due no later than Thursday, July 26, 2012. You may contact the Haywood County Election Commission office at 731-772-1760 for more information.
   "I am grateful to the county election officials, poll workers, and others who are willing to put in the time and effort that goes into a successful election," said Secretary of State Tre Hargett. "Their hard work and dedication ensures that all Tennesseans have an opportunity to exercise their right to vote."
   Voters are reminded that they will need to present a state or federal issued photo ID in order to vote in person, whether during early voting or on Election Day.
   Examples of acceptable forms of ID, whether current or expired, include driver licenses, U.S. passports, Department of Safety photo ID cards, U.S. military photo IDs and other state or federal government photo ID cards. College student IDs are not acceptable.
   If you would like more information about early voting or the new law, call 1-877-850-4959 or visit the Division of Elections web site at www.GoVoteTN.com.
>Below is a copy of the ballot for the election. To download the image as a PDF, simply click on the image.

Click here to see candidate activity at the Haywood County Election Registrar's office for the August General Election and August Primary Election as reported by the registrar's office through April 2, 2012.

The filing and withdrawal deadline for the Brownsville Municipal Election has passed. Click here to see candidates that have qualified for the two Aldermanic seats appearing on the June ballot.

Municipal election deadline passes; Activity in County General, too
March 15, 2012

   Both aldermanic positions appearing on the June 19 Brownsville Municipal Election ballot are contested. Incumbent Aldermen Leon King (Ward 1) and John Simmons (Ward 3) have filed for reelection but both face opposition.
   Dell Phillips, Samuel Starks and Barry Presley are all seeking to unseat King.
   Undrae Phillips has challenged Simmons.
   The filing deadline passed Thursday at noon.
County General filings
   The Assessor of Property is the only full time local position on the county’s August ballot. Dare Simpson has already filed to run for reelection, but she’ll face at least two challengers. Former Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Joe Ing has filed qualifying papers as has Brownville businessman Scott Barker.
   Daniel Thornton’s seat on the school board has attracted attention. Thornton is the incumbent in School Board District 2 & 6. He hasn't filed for reelection but Freddie Burnette has filed a qualifying petition for the seat.
   Allen Currie has picked up a qualifying [petition to run for reelection to School Board Position 4 & 10. Joe Barden, who held the seat prior to Currie’s election, has also picked up a petition.
   The qualifying deadline for the county election is April 5.

Super Tuesday election results
March 7, 2012

   Rick Santorum is Tennessee's favorite to be Barack Obama's Republican challenger this fall - and Haywood County Republicans agree.
   Unofficial returns from yesterday's Super Tuesday Primary found Santorum a big winner in Haywood County taking 53.16% of the vote. Mitt Romney was a distant second with 22% and Newt Gringrich was third with just under 20%. Santorum won Tennessee. Santorum got 454 votes, Romney 188 and Gingrich 169. Ron Paul is favored by 34 Haywood County Republicans. Even though they have pulled out of the race there were three other Republican candidates that won a handful of votes. Michelle Bachman got 4, Jon Huntsman and Rick Perry 2 each.
   There were 854 people voting in the presidential Republican primary.
   Though there is no challenger for democrat Barack Obama, 484 people cast ballots in the Democrat primary, 11 of those votes were uncommitted — the remainder for President Obama.
   An exit poll conducted by the Associated Press of voters in Tennessee's presidential primary showed Rick Santorum beat Mitt Romney thanks to strong support among born-again Christians. Santorum also led Romney 3 to 1 among those who said it mattered a "great deal" that a candidate shared their religious beliefs.

Haywood and Crockett get new legislative district
January 14, 2012

   Legislators made it official Friday. Haywood County will become a part of House Legislative District 82. Tipton County and Haywood County will no longer be in the same district and that means a new representative for Haywood County.
   District 82 is comprised of Haywood, Lauderdale and Crockett Counties.
   The only thing redistricting lacks is the governor’s signature, and a spokesman in Bill Haslam’s office said that’s expected.
   Legislative boundary changes were required because of population shifts reported in the 2010 census. There are 132 seats in the Tennessee General Assembly.
   Haywood County remains in the same senatorial district where Fayette County’s Delores Gresham is the incumbent.
   Jimmy Naifeh, once the powerful house speaker, has been Haywood County’s representative for about the last about ten years. Naifeh lives in Covington so the new boundary lines make him ineligible to represent Haywood County. Craig Fitzhugh is the incumbent in Haywood’s new district.
   The changes in the districts won’t become effective until after the November election.

Proposed House Redistricting Map - Click image to view PDF

Proposed Senate Map