Brownsville, Haywood County, Tennessee

Boards & Commissions
Business & Industry
Departments & Services
Vendor Registration

Haywood County
1 North Washington
Brownsville, TN 38012

County Government

Haywood County Government
1 W. Washington
Brownsville, TN 38012

County Mayor, A. Franklin Smith

Haywood County Mayor, Franklin SmithA Haywood County native, Mayor Smith graduated from Haywood High School. He holds a bachelor of arts degree from the University of Memphis, and has also graduated from the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy, the University of Tennessee Local Government Leadership Program, the University of Tennessee at Martin WestStar Leadership Program and the University of Tennessee Certified Public Administrator program.

He worked with the Haywood County Youth Services Office from 1974 through 1979, The Richards Agency in Brownsville from 1979 to August 1986, and as the elected Haywood County Executive from September 1986 through August 1999. From September 1999 to November 2004 he served as the Executive Director of the Southwest Human Resource Agency in Henderson, Tennessee, and as Haywood County Mayor again since December 2004. He was re-elected to serve another four-year term in August 2006 and again in August 2010.


  • West Tennessee River Basin Authority – Chairman
  • Southwest Human Resource Agency – Board Member
  • Southwest Development District – Vice-Chairman
  • Tennessee Association of County Mayors – 1st Vice-President
  • Brownsville Rotary Club – Member and Past President
  • Brownsville-Haywood County YMCA – Past President
  • Carl Perkins Center for the Prevention of Child Abuse – Board Member and Past President
  • Christ Episcopal Church – Brownsville, Tennessee
  • Honors:

  • Brownsville-Haywood County Chamber of Commerce 1999 Man of the Year
  • Rotary Foundation Paul Harris Fellow

  • Staff

    Tonja-Stocking-Hines, Administrative Assistant
    Administrative Assistant - Tonja Stocking-Hines
    Larry Livingston, Budget Manager and Tawana Mann, Payroll and Accounts Payable Clerk
    Larry Livingston, Budget Manager
    Tawana Mann, Bookkeeper

    Financial Status

    1. Haywood County Debt Mangement Policy
    Click the link above to view this document in PDF format

    2. Report of the Director of the Office of State and Local Finance Concerning the Proposed Issuance of General Obligation Refunding Bonds, Series 2015
    Click the link above to view this document in PDF format

    3. Haywood Financial

    County Legislative Body

  • Twenty-member County Commission
  • 10 Districts (2 members per district) elected for four-year terms
  • County Mayor currently serves as Chairman of the Commission
  • Chairman elected annually by commission members
  • Haywood County Commissioners (2010-2014)

    District I

    Kathy Chapman
    472 Carlita Street
    Brownsville, TN. 38012
    H 772-1797; C 780-0219; W 423-0951
    BUDGET, JAIL Committees

    Janice Rogers
    911 North Lafayette Avenue
    Brownsville, TN. 38012
    C 443-0658
    District II

    Allen King
    2695 Highway 54 North
    Brownsville, TN. 38012
    H 772-9681 C 780-3250

    Richard Jameson
    P.O. Box 27
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-1430 C 780-0622
    SOLID WASTE Committee
    District III

    Robert T. Green
    1232 Morrich Avenue
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-3192; C 780-0717
    W 772-4140 OR 772-3310

    Sheronda Green
    905 E. Jefferson St.
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    EDUCATION Committee
    District IV

    Allan O'Quinn

    PUBLIC SAFETY Committee

    Jerry Smith
    120 College Hill Villages
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-0726 W 734-2530 C 413-6698
    BUDGET Committee
    District V
    Wally Eubanks
    Wally Eubanks
    294 Eubanks Road
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-5486; C 267-0196
    EDUCATION, BUDGET Committees
    John Gorman
    John P. Gorman, Jr.
    392 John Gorman Road
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-4450; C 901-409-4127
    District VI

    Chris Lea
    3184 Hwy. 79 N.
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-7156, 432-9111; C 780-2641; W 772-0713

    Becky Booth
    Becky Booth
    1592 Albert Booth Road
    Bells, TN 38006
    H 772-0246
    BUDGET, PLANNING Committees
    District VII

    Larry Stanley
    Larry G. Stanley
    7357 Mercer Road
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-4904, 772-2124; C 780-8097

    James Morgan
    1885 Hubert Barcroft Rd.
    Brownsville, TN 38012

    SOLID WASTE Committee
    District VIII

    Jefferey Richmond
    783 Douglas Loop
    Stanton, TN 38069
    H 548-2359; C 780-0239

    Marjorie Vaulx
    1482 Qualls Road
    Stanton, TN 38069
    H 731-772-9188
    District IX

    Freddy O Smith
    7030 Shaw Chapel Rd.
    Brownsville, TN 38012

    Leonard Jones
    Leonard Jones, Jr.
    663 Bond Ferry Road
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    H 772-0440; C 780-2203
    BUDGET, SOLID WASTE Committees
    District X

    Joe Barden IV
    Joe Barden IV
    120 Cannon Dr.
    Brownsville, TN 38012
    SOLID WASTE Committee

    Joe Stephens
    665 Joe Stephens Road
    Ripley, TN 38063
    W 772-1121; C 780-2260
    BUDGET, PUBLIC SAFETY, 911 Committees

    Elected and Appointed County Officials

    • County Clerk: Serves as clerk (secretary) for the county commission – elected for four-year terms.

    • Trustee: Collects taxes and fees and invests county funds – elected for a four-year term

    • Register: Records all deeds and trust deeds for real property – elected for a four-year term

    • Clerk and Master: Clerk for Chancery and Probate Courts – Appointed for a six-year term

    • Circuit Court Clerk: Clerk for Circuit Court, General Sessions Court and Juvenile Court – elected for a four-year term

    • Property Assessor: Assesses all real and personal property – elected for a four-year term

    • Sheriff: Chief law enforcement officer, Operates county jail – elected for a four-year term

    • Election Registrar: Officer for all elections – Appointed by the County Election Commission

    • Highway Superintendent: Maintains county roads – appointed for a four-year term by the Highway Commission

    • Highway Commission: Sets policy for county roads - five members elected by district residents for four-year terms

    • Director of Schools: Appointed by the Haywood County School Board – CEO of county schools

    • School Board: Sets policy for county schools – five-member board elected for four-year terms

    • Planning Commission: In charge of zoning for all unincorporated areas of county – Nine-member board appointed by County Commission for four-year terms