Brownsville, Haywood County, Tennessee

Boards & Commissions
Business & Industry
Departments & Services
Vendor Registration

Haywood County
1 North Washington
Brownsville, TN 38012

Haywood County Sheriff's Department

Haywood County Sheriff Melvin Bond
100 S. Dupree
Brownsville, TN 38012
(731) 772-6158
24 Hour Phone Number: 731-772-7705

Direct Phone Lines:

  • Sheriff Bond – 731-779-3449
  • Chief Deputy Smothers – 731-779-3443
  • Capt. Blackwell – 731-779-3444
  • (Warrants) – 731-779-3445
  • Secretaries – 731-779-3446
  • Narcotics – 731-772-9972

    Haywood County Sheriff

    Haywood County Sheriff, Melvin Bond

    Sheriff Bond’s law enforcement career began in 1989, and he was elected to the lead the county’s law enforcement department in 2002, and re-elected to serve four more years in August 2006. He attended the Tennessee Law Enforcement Academy and has had training in criminal investigation, narcotics and as a DARE instructor. He is also a Certified Public Administrator and is the only sheriff in West Tennessee to graduate from the University of Tennessee C.T.A.S.

    Duties & Services

    • Protect and Serve
    • Criminal Investigation
    • Civil Process
    • Criminal Summons Serving
    • State Warrant Serving
    • Escorts
    • Court Security
    • Neighborhood Watch
    • Drug Awareness Programs
    • Prisoner Transport
    • Respond to 991 calls
    • Manage Haywood County Jail

    Supporting Personnel

    Chief Deputy, Mike Smothers
    Chief Deputy
    Mike Smothers

    Command Staff
    Lt. Evans, Lt. Ray Bunch, Lt. Fisher, Sgt. Holloway

    Criminal Investigation Division
    Capt. Billy Blackwell, Lt. Terry Smith, Sgt. Leann Moore

    Administrative Services
    Crystal Jones (Office Manager)
    Joann Hunter (Secretary)

    Command Staff
    Courtroom Security/Transportations
    Louis Washington and Al Dean

    Other Deputies
    Dep. Bushhart, Dep. Miller, Deg. Chism, Dep. House, Dep. Smith, Dep. Robinson, Dep. Scott, Dep. Wyatt, Dep. Henderson, Dep. Masters, Dep. King,
    & Dep. Brown (Drug Task Force Unit)

    Haywood County Jail

    Jail Superintendent: Elma Walker
    Assistant Superintendent: Tonya Fisher
    Cooks: Carolyn Sangster, Mary Taylor and Cheryl Taylor
    Shift Supervisors:  Sgt. Eddie Sue Fouse, Nancy Starks
    FTO/Secretary: Steve Pike
    Cooks: Carolyn Sangster, Mary Taylor, & Cynthia Croom
    Correctional Officers: Glenda Covington, Catanya Swift, Homer Kinnon, Ronnie Lee, John Williams, Zack Smith, Cedric Tyus, Thomas Taylor, Maurio Reed, & Donald Johnson

    Assistant Superintendent, Elma Walker

    Jail Superintendent
    Elma Walker







    Assistant Superintendent
    Tonya Fisher

    Helpful Links