Brownsville, Haywood County, Tennessee

Boards & Commissions
Business & Industry
Departments & Services
Vendor Registration

Haywood County
1 North Washington
Brownsville, TN 38012

Haywood County Utilities  

Southwest Tennessee Electric Membership CorporationSouthwest Tennessee Electric Membership Corporation is a consumer-owned, nonprofit electric distribution cooperative, providing electric service to parts of Chester, Crockett, Fayette, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Madison and Tipton Counties. Of the twenty-two electric cooperatives in Tennessee, Southwest, with over 46,000 consumers and approximately 3,600 miles of line, ranks sixth with respect to number of customers and seventh with respect to miles of line. Southwest is the largest electric cooperative in West Tennessee.

Southwest’s service territory ranges from the Mississippi River on the west to within approximately thirty miles of the Tennessee River on the east. Due to the long, narrow geographic shape of the service territory, it is necessary for Southwest to operate four districts in order to provide quality service to its customers. Southwest has district offices in Brownsville, Jackson, Covington and Henderson. The Covington District supports an office in Munford. The Brownsville District Office is co-located with Southwest’s headquarters office. District offices are operationally autonomous, providing light line construction and maintenance, new electric services, and routine customer services. Management, engineering, financial, accounting, personnel and other support services are provided to district operations by headquarters staff.

For more information, please go to